Sex crimes against children are viewed as particularly heinous under Georgia law. A person convicted of a first offense of child molestation is subject to no less than five years in prison and no more than 20 years on the sex crime charge. If, however, the victim of sexual molestation is between 14 and 16 years of age and the defendant is 18 or younger and not more than four years older than the victim, the person is only guilty of a misdemeanor.
No matter who you are or what your position, one's reputation can often be damaged over unfair accusations. Allegations of sex crimes in particular raise the risk of dealing enough damage to reputation in one's professional life or personal life that it could be almost impossible to recover.
Being accused of a sex crime can change your life, even if you're never convicted. Society is quick to condemn those who face sex-related charges, and prosecutors are under immense pressure to convict. Despite what some may say, though, you still have rights when facing sex crime charges.
When someone in Atlanta, Georgia, is facing sex charges, they have more than their freedom on the line. Their reputation and their future are at stake. The court of public opinion may convict a person who has been charged without the benefit of an actual trial in a court of law.